King Harvest & The Weight – Maps Album Review


An album released today – that is worthy of your attention.  Read on for our thoughts on King Harvest & The Weight’s Album Maps.



Out today due to a national tour – Maps is the debut album by King Harvest & The Weight.   With themes echoing back to a pre-punk era, taking songwriting skills with elements of 60s pop and 70s rock – We welcome them.


King Harvest & The Weight are: Ben Adey (Vocals/Bass), Justin Edley (Drums) and Olly Smith (Guitar/Vocals). 






“Everything was done very traditionally – tracked live wherever possible, with a minimum of overdubs.” Among the album’s many collaborators are M G Boulter (Simone Felice, Duke & The King), Andy Bruce (Erland and The Carnival, Kathryn Williams, Ren Harvieu), Rosie Doonan (Peter Gabriel), Conor Lawrence (Flesh), and CJ Smith of Roger Taylor and Brian May’s pre-Queen band, Smile. 


Highlight tracks

When it Stops – High tempo guitar heavy introduction to a good track.  Guitar riff definitely catchy with a good drum background.

The Night – The ballad style song of the album. Slow melodic but still has that proverbial edge to it.  “Hold on to the night”.

Unstuck – The one we could dance too.  Its catchy vocals are the highlight of this track – with the lyrics very stuck in our heads.



A good variety album but sticking to a underlining theme to bring it together.  Each track stands out for different reasons be it strong vocals or a great guitar riff.  This is a good album to add to the collection.


For More Info


Tour Dates:

The Glad Cafe, Glasgow, June 25th

The Voodoo Rooms, Edinburgh, June 26th

IRELAND Pine Lodge, Cork, July 1st

Roisn Dubh, Galway, July 2nd

Grand Social, Dublin, July 3rd



About Author

Assistant Editor for Erisea. Lover of all things Geeky and otherwise. Feel free to say hello - @Dresdenfalls

Leave A Reply