Lack Of Afro – Back To The Day feat. Elliott Cole – Single Review



Time to see how a “Lack of Afro” helps. Most people do but a band by the name enters our ears with an interesting sound. Aimed to be a “refreshing string-laden sunshine soaked gem” – their song “Back To The Day” is one gem of a song. Official Link to listen will be at the bottom of the article. 


Lack of Afro

Multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer Adam Gibbons (the focus of Lack of Afro) is back in some style with ‘Back To The Day’. A beautifully produced summer classic aiming to be crammed full of hooks, top musicianship and vibe.

Lack of Afro sound creation goes from strength to strength. In 2016, their album Hello Baby, picked up a BBC 6 Music Album of the Year’s nomination and appeared in the Top 10 of the iTunes R&B/Soul chart in 21 countries. Recently Adam’s music gets used across all aspects of film & TV by networks such as ABC, Fox, NBC, Sony Pictures & the BBC, whilst he also has released music on Universal & Warner Brothers Records.



Back To The Day

Back To The Day aims to blend the old with the new. Pushing it hard with big drums and heavy percussion, it creates a sort of crossover of genres. Pushing the boundaries and throwing your head for a few loops too.

Added to the song is Elliott Cole. Cole provides the vocal and pushes it further by playing guitars and bass for the track (hopefully not at the same time). Then even more is thrown in with some stellar musicians including George Cooper (famous for working with Haggis Horns) on keys, Rory Simmons (famous for working with Blur and Jamie Cullum) on trumpet, string and horn arrangements and Harry Harding (famous for working with Yola Carter) holding down the back beat on drums. 


The single comes out this Friday 13th April following a premiere on Clash and BBC 6 Music airplay from Craig Charles, ahead of a new album and tour visiting Nottingham, Manchester, London, Liverpool, Newcastle and more scheduled for May.



Pushes thoughts towards a lighter Jackson 5 song with a twist or two thrown in dynamically.  Cannot wait to hear more of their stuff. 

4/5 Rating for this song. 


For More Info

Lack of Afro Site – Click Here

Link to LOA Records Video – Click Here

Both tracks are taken from the new album ‘Jack Of All Trades’, released on LOA Records in May 2018 and supported by alive band UK tour in May & throughout various festivals throughout the summer.
Digital Release : Friday 13th April 2018
7” Vinyl Release : Friday 18th May 2018


Tour Dates:

6 May- Rock City, Nottingham

11 May- Bierkellar, Exeter

12 May- Camp & Furnace, Liverpool

18 May- The 100 Club, Oxford Street, LDN

19 May- The Bassment, Chelmsford

26 May- Band On The Wall, Manchester

31 May- The Parish, Huddersfield

1 June- Hoochie Coochie, Newcastle

9 June- Lemonfest, Newton Abbott

7 July- Mostly Jazz, Birmingham

15 July- Readipop Festival, Caversham

19 August- Sunrise Celebration Festival, Hereford

About Author

Assistant Editor for Erisea. Lover of all things Geeky and otherwise. Feel free to say hello - @Dresdenfalls

Comments are closed.