Single Review – “Here in the Wild” by August Wells

0

Looking for a song that will take your soul for a ride. Interested? Read on….

About

August wells is a combination of Dublin native Ken Griffin and New York Pianist John Rauchenberger.  Ken famous for working with Rollerskate Skinny and Favourite Sons, hits those deep and smoky tones that take the soul on a journey.

The influences however come from living in the surroundings of New York. 

 

“strange other worldly chamber music”, “Sinatra singing Lou Reed songs” and “a secret marriage of Willy Nelson and Lee Hazlewood”. It could also be described as songs to walk across your troubled heart with . . . 

 

Single Thoughts – “Here in the Wild”

Its a Music that feels “other worldly” and untraditional.  Echoing back to eras of the past but bringing it into the present.

From its slow start focusing on the basics of a laid back song, its a song that takes people on a journey.  Its been a while hearing the combination of a piano and a smoky toned singer. The piano acts as the anchor to the song with a the voice the guide to how to get through it.

The lyrics hit the soul too and we Love to hear more and can’t wait to.

 

 

For More Info –

Its hits the UK on 22nd of April with FIFA Records and its worth adding to your collection. 

Watch the video for the single here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAo0ZJyxojg

 

Links:

https://twitter.com/AugustWellsBand

https://www.facebook.com/augustwellsband?ref=hl

 

Tour Dates:

Sat 25th Jun – Sailors Bar – Clare Island (IRL)

Sun 26th Jun – Sea Sessions Music & Surf Festival (IRL)

Thurs 30th Jun – Mike the Pies – Listowel (IRL)

Fri 1st Jul – Coughlans – Cork (IRL)

Sat 2nd Jul – Levis Corner House – Ballydehob (IRL)

Fri 8th Jul – The Cave – Mitchelstown (IRL)

Sat 8th July – Pine Lodge – Myrtleville (IRL)

Tues 12th Jul – Bom Banes – Brighton (UK)

Wed 13th Jul – The Islington – London (UK)

Sat 16th Jul – The Railway Hotel – Southend-on-Sea (UK)

Fri 22nd Jul – The Hot Spot – Greystones (IRL)

Sat 23rd Jul – The Workmans Club – Dublin  (IRL)

Sun 24th Jul – Knockanstockan Festival – Blessington (IRL)

Sun 31st Jul – Indiependence Music & Arts Festival (IRL)

 

About Author

Assistant Editor for Erisea. Lover of all things Geeky and otherwise. Feel free to say hello - @Dresdenfalls

Leave A Reply