The Solar System


The Solar System is our home, the place that Earth resides and is basically our neighbourhood.  It is pretty incredible and as far as we know, currently, it is unique in that it is the only system we have knowledge of that supports life.  Pretty Amazing! 

The Solar System

The Universe is rather large and consists of an innumerable amount of galaxies, The Solar System where we live is a part of the Milky Way Galaxy.  It is packed full of planets, moons, comets and lots of mystery.  We have landed on the moon and even sent robots to live on Mars and report back to us on what they find.  Most recently NASA started receiving data and photographs from the New Horizon mission, all the way from Pluto.

NASA’s New Horizons spacecraft captured this high-resolution enhanced color view of Pluto on July 14, 2015.

NASA’s New Horizons spacecraft captured this high-resolution enhanced color view of Pluto on July 14, 2015.

We know a lot about our solar system but, there is still a lot to discover and new missions are starting all of the time, explorations into the unknown to fill our craving for knowledge.  In March there is a new NASA mission that leaves for Mars, called Insight and it aims to discover more about what is below the surface of the red planet.

The Sun is at the center of our system, the planets, dwarf planets and other celestial bodies within the gravitational pull of the Sun, orbit the star.  Within it there are 8 planets, of course that is not counting poor Pluto who has been classified and declassified many times, now we should refer to it as a dwarf planet, of which we have five that are known, there is the potential for hundreds more though.  

How do dwarf planets differ from planets?  The simple answer is that whilst they orbit the Sun dwarf planets have not cleared their immediate orbit of objects, where as planets have.  

Planets themselves each have a gravitational field that attracts natural satellites or moons towards them.  For example the Earth has one satellite, The Moon.  In total there are 173 planetary moons, Jupiter alone has 67 and Saturn 62.  

solar system did you knwo



About Author

Founder of Eclectic Enchantments blog, Erika has also been a beauty writer, fashion writer and Beauty & Accessories Editor for a large online magazine before starting Erisea. Erika lives with her dog, Hendrix and beautiful baby girl. She suffers with Fibromyalgia and CFS, among other illnesses which leaves her housebound much of the time. Her passion is writing.


  1. Pingback: Earth | Erisea Magazine

  2. Pingback: The Digital Astronaut’s Guide to the Universe – Mars | Erisea Magazine

  3. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites
    really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future.
    All the best

  4. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude!
    Thank you so much, However I am encountering troubles with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I am unable to join it.
    Is there anybody getting identical RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond?

  5. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.

    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how
    could we communicate?

Leave A Reply